What is hardcore mode?

An intense, unforgiving gamemode, vanilla Minecraft's hardcore mode locks your server's world into hard difficulty. When a player on a hardcore world dies, they are locked into spectator mode with no chance to respawn.

There are some plugins and mods out there that redefine hardcore or interfere with vanilla's hardcore mode. You'll need to check plugin/mod documentation to best keep updated on what may affect your server.

For more information about vanilla's Hardcore mode, please click here.

How do I enable hardcore mode?

We recommend stopping your server before you toggle any settings. Due to the way hardcore mode ties to your server's world, you might also take the time to create a new world now. If you're ready to proceed, access the Settings page in your Prisma control panel (under the "Customize" menu), toggle the setting for Hardcore, save your changes, then start your server.

How do I disable hardcore mode?

As hardcore mode is tied to your server's world, disabling it is not as easy as toggling a setting. You'll first want to stop your server, then toggle the setting for hardcore.

  1. Stop your server.

  2. Access the Settings page in Prisma (under the "Customize" menu).

  3. Toggle the setting for Hardcore and save your changes.

From here, you can either create a new world, delete your level.dat, or edit the level.dat directly.

What will deleting the level.dat do?

The level.dat file affects quite a few things: world information (seed), spawn points, gamerules, dimension data (like whether or not you've killed the ender dragon), active datapacks, game type, and weather.

While the world will appear reset, entities and builds will remain, as well as player data (like your inventory).

How do I delete the level.dat?

You'll need to access your active world folder to delete this file.

  1. Stop your server.

  2. Access your server's File Manager in Prisma (under the "Customize" menu).

  3. Access your active world folder by double-clicking on its line.

  4. Find the file titled level.dat and delete it using the trash icon on its line.

  5. Start your server.

How do I edit the level.dat?

Editing this file is an advanced process but will result in the least amount of change.

If you are not comfortable opening and modifying files, we recommend deleting this file or starting with a new world. If you'd like to proceed, follow the steps below:

  1. Stop your server.

  2. Access your server's File Manager in Prisma (under the "Customize" menu).

  3. Access your current world folder by double-clicking on its line.

  4. Find the file titled level.dat and download it to your computer.

  5. Once you've downloaded the existing file, rename it in Prisma to level.dat.old or delete it.

  6. Open WebNBT and upload the level.dat file to it.

  7. Using the search function at the top of the NBT Editor, search for hardcore.

  8. Once you've located the line for hardcore, edit the number listed to 0 by double-clicking on it and modifying the number text.

  9. Save the change you've made by clicking the Save button towards the top-right of the NBT Editor.

  10. Go back to your File Manager in Prisma and upload the modified level.dat to your active world folder (where you originally downloaded it).

  11. Access the Settings page in Prisma (under the "Customize" menu), toggle the setting for Hardcore, save your changes.

  12. Start your server.

  13. If needed, use the gamemode command to update player gamemodes to survival.

Is there any way to bring a player back from death in Hardcore?

While hardcore mode was not designed to allow players to come back from death, you can use the gamemode command to set their gamemode back to survival.

Can I bring a dead player back without using cheats?

Bringing a player back may feel cheaty any way you do it, but if you do not want to use the gamemode command, we may be able to roll back your server. You'll need to reach out and let us know how far back you'd like to go.

What about the player's inventory?

Upon death, the player inventory is left on the ground where the player died. If the player wants to regain their items, they'll need to collect them before they despawn. If the server is restored, the player inventory should remain.

Did this answer your question?